New election cycle and terms of office for elected Board members were introduced in 2017 and will be implemented for the November 2018 election.

At its November 2017 meeting, the College Board approved amendments to the Health Professions Act Bylaws to change the terms of office for elected Board members from two years to three years, and the maximum number of consecutive terms served by elected board members from three to two.

As a result of these changes, the Board election cycle will be changed into a three-year process. Elections for four of the eight electoral districts will be held in each of the first two years of the cycle, and no elections will be held in the third year.

The changes will begin with the November 2018 elections. Board members from even-numbered electoral districts (District 2, 4, 6 and 8) will be elected in the first year of the cycle, and Board members from odd-numbered electoral districts (Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7) will be elected in the second year of the cycle. No election will be held in the third year of the cycle.

Board Election Calendar

District 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
1   X     X     X
2 X     X     X  
3   X     X     X
4 X     X     X  
5   X     X     X
6 X     X     X  
7   X     X     X
8 X     X     X  

Note: X indicates an election

Extending the term of office from two to three years, provides more consistency in the membership of the Board, and provide Board members with more time to learn and grow within their roles prior to their terms ending.

© College of Pharmacists of British Columbia. All Rights Reserved