2016/17 Annual Report

Chair's Message

Dear Colleagues,

I am honoured to serve as the new Board Chair for the College of Pharmacists of BC effective November 2016. Some of you may recognize me from previously holding both Board Chair and Vice-Chair positions. I would first like to thank the outgoing Board Chair and District 4 Representative, Blake Reynolds, for his work leading the Board over the past year.

The Board welcomed a new District 4 – Kootenay/Okanagan Representative, Chris Szeman at the November Board meeting. Chris is a pharmacy manager in Vernon with over 19 years of experience. We appreciate his insight and perspective and look forward to working with him.

The College has been hard at work this year. From introducing guidelines for pharmacists who choose to provide services within the context of Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID); unscheduling naloxone in response to BC’s growing opioid crisis; to celebrating the College’s 125th anniversary, the College Board and Staff continue to make significant strides toward the provision of quality pharmacy care in BC.

The Board also approved the implementation of the second phase of the Practice Review Program in Hospital Pharmacy settings at its November meeting. Originally introduced in community practice in February 2015, the Practice Review Program has been a success, with most pharmacy professionals reporting a positive impact on their practice and increased familiarity with the College’s bylaws and policies. Expanding the program into hospital practice settings will allow us to continue to engage with great pharmacists and pharmacy technicians across the province.

Lastly, I would like to thank the many dedicated pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and public representatives who volunteer their time on the College’s many committees. Committees are an invaluable part of the College’s processes, helping to steer both organizational and legislative efforts. Thank you for your commitment to the pharmacy profession.

On behalf of the Board, I present the College of Pharmacists of BC’s 2016/17 Annual Report.




Anar Dossa, Chair